Traveling Tips

Here are some resources to make traveling with your HandyScoot™ easier.

Traveling by Air

TSA Passenger Support:  https://www.tsa.gov/travel/passenger-support

TSA Cares – Mobility Disabilities, Aids & Devices:  https://youtu.be/mHo8BMAHx00

FAA Pack Safe Lithium Ion Batteries:  https://www.faa.gov/hazmat/packsafe/more_info/?hazmat=37

IATA Battery Powered Wheelchair and Mobility Aid Guidance Document: https://www.iata.org/whatwedo/cargo/dgr/Documents/mobility-aid-guidance-document-2019-en.pdf

What to do when Airline Damages your Scooter:

U.S. Dot’s Consumer Air Travel Reports:  https://www.transportation.gov/individuals/aviation-consumer-protection/air-travel-consumer-reports

Air Carrier Access Act:  https://www.transportation.gov/airconsumer/passengers-disabilities

China Battery Limitations:  https://www.china-airlines.com/us/en/fly/prepare-for-the-fly/baggage/dangerous-goods-information

Taking a Cruise 

Note:  the HandyScoot™ rear axle can be adjusted to 22″ wide which meets the requirements of most cruise lines.

Carnival®:  https://www.carnival.com/about-carnival/special-needs/wheelchair-users.aspx

Celebrity Cruises®:  https://www.celebritycruises.com/content/dam/celebrity/pdf/Celebrity-Guest-Special-Needs-Form.pdf

Disney Cruise Line:  https://disneycruise.disney.go.com/faq/guests-with-disabilities/wheelchair-mobility-devices/

Holland America Line®:  https://www.hollandamerica.com/en_US/accessibility.html

Norwegian Cruise Line®: https://www.ncl.com/fr/en/about/accessible-cruising

Princess Cruises:  https://www.princess.com/learn/faq_answer/pre_cruise/prepare.jsp#Passengers_Special_Needs

Royal Carribean International:  https://www.royalcaribbean.com/experience/accessible-cruising/mobility-disabilities

Viking:  https://www.vikingcruises.com/terms-conditions/index.html 

Public Transportation

https://www.transit.dot.gov/regulations-and-guidance/civil-rights-ada/questions-and-answers-concerning-wheelchairs-and-bus-and

International Destinations

https://ec.europa.eu/social/main.jsp?langId=en&catId=1137